Contrade Soppresse

In the distant past there were not 17 but 23 neighborhoods or contrade in Siena. During the 17th century, they slowly died out and were officially considered extinct in 1729 when the boundaries of the neighborhood were established.

The 6 neighborhoods were: Gallo, Leone, Orso, Quercia, Spadaforte and Vipera.

There are different stories about the reason for extinction: one source says it is the result of a dispute during the Palio of 1675. Another, more accepted source says it is a result of organizational shortcomings, no participation in public life (Palio, …) and so on. Their territory was annexed by the neighboring districts and their traces remain visible in the flags and comparsa of those districts.

Today the six neighborhoods still go out in the Corteo Storico. It is the 6 knights on horseback with a lance and helmet with the symbol of the neighborhood. They enter the Piazza after the 7 non-participating neighborhoods.

Contrade Soppresse 1
Contrade Soppresse 2
Contrade Soppresse 3

The territory of Gallo contained the following streets:

  • Costarella dei Barbieri
  • via di Fontebranda (gate to via di Città)
  • piazza dell’Indipendenza
  • via di Diacceto
  • via dei Pellegrini
  • via di Città until Chiasso del Bargello

The streets were divided between Civetta, Selva and Oca.

The contrada participated in public parties in 1499, 1518, 1532, 1534, 1536, 1560, 1578, 1581, 1583.


The territory of Leone contained the following streets:

  • Santo Stefano alla Lizza
  • poggio di San Prospero
  • Chiesa di San Vincenzo
  • strada di Campansi
  • piazza Paparoni.

Currently Leone is completely absorbed in Istrice, whose clubhouse is still bearing the name.

The contrada participated in public parties in 1507, 1516, 1532, 1541, 1581, 1590.


The territory of Orso contained the following streets :

  • piazza Tolomei
  • Banchi di Sopra until Arco dei Rossi
  • via dei Termini
  • piazza dell’Indipendenza
  • via delle Terme
  • via di Città
  • Banchi di Sopra until Piazza Tolomei.

The streets were divided between Civetta, Selva and Oca.

The contrada participated in public parties in 1499, 1516, 1532, 1536, 1541, 1581, 1588, 1591.


Quercia was the only district of Siena that had territory outside the gates (Porta San Marco in this case) and walls of the city. More specifically, the Sant’Eugenio Abate monastery was included in the territory of Quercia.

Quercia never participated independently in public parties, but always together with Chiocciola where it has been absorbed today.


The territory of Spadaforte contained the following streets :

  • via del Porrione
  • via S. Martino

The streets were divided between Torre and Leocorno

The contrada participated in public parties in 1532.


The territory of Vipera contained the following streets :

  • gebied rond de chiesa di San Giusto tot aan vicolo dei Pagliaresi
  • via del Rialto

Vipera was completely absorbed by Torre.

The contrada participated in public parties in 1499, 1507, 1516, 1518, 1532, 1534, 1536, 1560, 1581, 1583, 1587, 1591, 1593.

Vipera is the only Contrada Soppressa that would have won a Palio (1648), although not officially recognized but a Bufalata in which 4 neighborhoods participated.

Last update : 8 december 2019